2007 Tigers season in review

Discussion in 'Football, Baseball, and Hockey' started by mikhail1973, Sep 25, 2007.

1. mikhail1973

mikhail1973 All-Star Administrator 1x Fantasy Champion

Kiev - Farmington Hills, MI - Santa Clara, CA
    With this year coming to a close I wanted to review the season, what has happened to the team, and what may lie ahead. This is my first attempt, so please be gentle.

After reaching the World Series last year, the team had great aspirations for this season, especially keeping the team mostly intact and adding Sheffield. Unfortunately, it didn’t play out as we’ve all hoped:

• While team managed to stay relatively injury-free last year, this year was a different matter. Rogers, Tigers’ 17 game winner from the previous season and team’s pitching leader missed most of the season with an ailment. Sheffield, who was really hot, injured his shoulder, and after missing a chunk of the season came back not at full strength and his hitting suffered significantly. Instead of hitting the ball out of the ballpark as he did prior to injury, he kept hitting pop ups and his batting average slipped over 40 pts. Rodney and Zumaya, who kept the bullpen together last year, missed a part of the season with injuries, and it took them a while to get back into shape.